Street Art / Julian Beever / England

“At first glance, street artist Julian Beever‘s sidewalk creations look like unfinished chalk drawings of oddly morphed animals or landscapes. But if you happen upon the one perfect angle, the image magically snaps into shape, showing you a giant charging snail or an aerial view of Times Square. So how does he do it?”

This is for John Clinock, so he can see the details of how Julian Beever creates these amazing illusions!   http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/12/street-artist-julian-beev_n_1668616.html#slide=1217155

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/12/street-artist-julian-beev_n_1668616.html#slide=1217155                                http://www.julianbeever.net/

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in public art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Street Art / Julian Beever / England

  1. clinock says:

    I’ve been collecting images of Beever’s illusionistic work for awhile, the man is a genius and blows my mind. You ask us how he does it? – You are supposed to tell us!…

  2. ddifool says:

    i’m still confused. Is the cola bottle in the first pic for real, or, is it just part of the illusion?

Leave a comment