Artist of the Day / Annamarie Poole

I love Annamarie’s take on traditional ceramic vessels.

“I have my own small studio and a large gas kiln in my back yard. Except for my “day job” I live and breath clay. My pottery is wheel thrown in porcelain or stoneware. I love surface design, painting, flowers and glazes that give you that fluid runny look.”

   

         

http://www.etsy.com/shop/bluemistpottery

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in Artist of the Day, ceramics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment