Asteroid Impact & Deflection Assessment Project Planned To Save Earth From Space Rocks

According to this article ( http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/18/asteroid-impact-deflection-assessment-earth-space-rocks_n_2497672.html?utm_hp_ref=science), “European space officials are seeking ideas to help develop a mission to knock an asteroid off its course, in case one day humans must pull off such a stunt to save Earth from a catastrophic space-rock collision.”

“The reason the dinosaurs went extinct is because they didn’t have a space program.”

It turns out that I have just completed a prototype of a spaceship that will destroy such an asteroid!  I’m currently working on a 2-beater model, which, as you can imagine, presents many more technical difficulties.

https://www.etsy.com/listing/121411153/asteroid-impact-deflection-assessment

Image

Image

I’ve also found it has a much more ‘close to home’ use.  It is 100% effective at dispersing ‘bad karma’, ‘evil spells’, ‘negative energy’ etc!  I expect to market it for that purpose while I work on a full scale ship for the Europeans.

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Asteroid Impact & Deflection Assessment Project Planned To Save Earth From Space Rocks

  1. mobius faith says:

    “Dang! That ship is out of this world! I want that ship” – Buck Rogers

    Or at least I imagine that’s what Buck would say. 🙂
    Great creation Mike. Very sci-fi. I never imagined the beaters from my mothers mixer in this context before. LOVE IT!

  2. clinock says:

    Phew, I feel safer now…

  3. Leo says:

    A great blog and very interesting. I also make a lot of artworks from scrap items and find it very rewarding but i`ve never thought of selling them, i usually give them away. 🙂 As for destructive testing I did that at Plessey and Barlows for many years on military electronics, as you say it`s very interesting as everything has a resonant frequency.

Leave a Reply

