Artist of the Day / Chris Lawley / Wales

I love Chris’ statement so much that I might have posted it even without the evidence of his interesting work.

“Rusting, corroding and disintegrating found metal objects inspire my practice. As the form related to their functions wanes with decay, they reach a point where they become useless and their original purpose obscured by their degenerated appearance. I explore this transitional point in which an object that looks decayed crosses this boundary into losing its function. I translate some of these observed qualities by using stretching, tearing and cracking to give a worn and decayed surface. This process results in the impression of a functionless pot, challenging the preconceived language of function in pottery.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in Artist of the Day, ceramics, sculpture and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Artist of the Day / Chris Lawley / Wales

  1. mobius faith says:

    I love these. Amazing.

  2. clinock says:

    I too love the beauty in decay and these works connect profoundly – perhaps it’s to do with personal experience of aging…

Leave a Reply

