Artist of the Day (I hope!) / Dr. Wright / My Knee Surgeon

Rather than just disappear for a week or so, I’ve decided to let you know in advance that I’m having a knee replacement surgery done in a few days.  Hopefully it won’t be long before I can at least sit at my computer again.   

Here are a few photos that show some of the aspects of the surgery.  And, yeah, no more strolling through the scanning machines!

“Knee replacement surgery can be performed as a partial or a total knee replacement. In general, the surgery consists of replacing the diseased or damaged joint surfaces of the knee with metal and plastic components shaped to allow continued motion of the knee.”

“The operation typically involves substantial postoperative pain, and includes vigorous physical rehabilitation. The recovery period may be 6 weeks or longer and may involve the use of mobility aids (e.g. walking frames, canes, crutches) to enable the patient’s return to preoperative mobility.”

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in Artist of the Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Artist of the Day (I hope!) / Dr. Wright / My Knee Surgeon

  1. YIKES!!!!!

    Brave woman; admirable detachment.

    Good luck!

  2. mobius faith says:

    Best wishes Mike. Will look forward to a quick recovery and return to “better than normal”. 🙂
    See, bit-by-bit, we are becoming the “machine”.

    Even though I’d pass out at the first incision of scalpel to skin – I expect a full photo documentary of the process – yeah, right! LOL 🙂

  3. 4F Lighting says:

    Urk! I hope all goes well, Mike, and that you have a speedy recovery! -Leslie

  4. Oh boy good luck!!! Here’s to getting back on your feet quickly (literally!)

  5. barbaraelka says:

    Please get back to us as soon as you can.
    Wishing you well.

  6. clinock says:

    You ‘kneed’ to take care of yourself and get ‘heeled’ – some of those images were not that easy to look at but I did like the psychedelic xray. Sounds like a longish recovery and I wish you well through the whole thing – make good friends with the anesthetist!

  7. Just to say, I appreciate all the good wishes.

    thanks, Mike

  8. isabellart says:

    Hope you are doing well in the recovery process !!!

  9. Hello Mike,
    best wishes from germany and all the best for your recovery process.
    Greetings Juergen

Leave a Reply

