Artist of the Day / John Clinock / Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

I like John’s work a lot, and he really does ‘work in a wide variety of media’!  He also posts articles on other artists that interest him, on his website: http://johnclinockart.com/

I am a visual artist working in a wide variety of media. My recent retirement from over 20 years of teaching art has given me the gift of time that I am using fully and passionately to revisit and rediscover my own artwork and who I am as an artist.

 

 

My artwork, and much of my writing, is influenced by the surrealist concept of Automatism and the images I create result from a convergence of chance, observation and total surrender to and acceptance of the intuitive process.

I initiate each art piece by spontaneously layering the working surface, a ritual that evokes subconscious images. I then paint, draw or collage and the images appear. I have no initial judgement and I honour and nourish the figures and forms that emerge.

When successful, the resulting works contain elements of mystery, paradox and magic; and are open enough for viewers to discover and reflect their own story in what they see and read.

http://johnclinockart.com

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in Artist of the Day, collage, mixed media, painting/drawing, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Artist of the Day / John Clinock / Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

  1. mobius faith says:

    These are remarkable. Thanks so much for sharing this artists work. I’m looking forward to checking out his site.

  2. I’m sure you and John would appreciate each other! Mike

  3. isabellart says:

    One of my favorite artists!!!!!

  4. clinock says:

    Holy Toledo Batman! – what a pleasant surprise to come home to – thank you so much for posting my work. I’ve never been an “Artist of the Day” before – perhaps “Artist of the Night” as I am an owl and work until the dawn chorus summons me into the arms of Morpheus. I am truly honored…

  5. clinock says:

    And as a bonus you are now following my blog – thank you my friend…

  6. I do like your work, and I also enjoy your posts about other artists. I do ask my AOD’s if they would send photos, and any written thoughts, for my Making It and/or Work Spaces categories. People (me) really are interested in the ‘behind the scenes’ look at what and where artists do what they do.

    thanks, Mike

  7. Also a fan of his work!!!

Leave a Reply

