Artist/Person of the Day / Blog You Must Read / Silke Berens

This is easily the most moving artwork I’ve seen lately.

“‘Rites of Passage’ is an interpretation of my personal experience. The questions that arose from this experience correspond directly to the effects of a dysfunctional society, as well as to the effects of my own dysfunctions.”

Excerpt from a review of the exhibition by John Sampson:

“The Silke Berens exhibition, “Rites of Passage” at the Omba Gallery is a disturbing show. The title is an immediate hint that this is not your run-of-the-mill themed showing of pleasant works. The theme of this exhibition is quite the opposite, dealing as it does with child-abuse, not a popular area of focus. The style is intentionally childlike. The images of children seem as if drawn by a child. It has the quality of the amateur, and that is by intent, not by accident.”

                                                                     

http://silkeberens.wordpress.com

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in Artist of the Day, blogs to look at, painting/drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Artist/Person of the Day / Blog You Must Read / Silke Berens

  1. silkeberens says:

    Wow, thanks for the reblog. Great site 🙂

  2. Hi Silke, You are the first person who has ever noticed their post before I sent out my message to them! Here it it anyway.

    Hi Silke, I wanted you to know that you are the Artist of the Day on my blog:

    https://destructivetesting.wordpress.com/2012/03/24/artistperson-of-the-day-blog-you-must-read-silke-berens

    Please let me know if you would like me to add or change anything.

    The main purpose of the blog is to share the ‘Artistic Process’. What and where artists do what they do to create their art.

    I’d appreciate it if you would consider sending me some photos for my ‘Work Spaces’ and/or ‘Making It’ categories.

    Please send any photos to mfsmith46@gmail.com.

    And, of course, I’d like you to share this with anyone who might be interested.

    I have received messages like the following:
    Darcy commented on Artist of the Day / Sandy Martinez
    “Thanks for allowing us to know a bit more about the artist.”

    thanks, Mike

  3. sbmacinnis says:

    These are very powerful works. Very interesting perspectives.

Leave a Reply

