Artist of the Day / Michael and Aimee @ daydreemdesigns

My Artist of the Day search has brought many artists to my attention for the first time.  And, some art forms that I hadn’t particularly paid attention to before.  This is one of those.

“All pieces are hand made by one artist.   This shop is created by Michael and Aimee.Many people would say Michael has been an artist all his life. With the love and support from family and his fiance’ Aimee, his dreams have become reality. Basically self taught in all areas of his work. Pens and pencils is where everything started, then came airbrushing and murals. Portraits, glass engraving, and wood carving soon followed.”

                  

http://www.etsy.com/shop/daydreemdesigns

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in Artist of the Day, glass art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Artist of the Day / Michael and Aimee @ daydreemdesigns

  1. mujercampana says:

    Etsy is a treasure trove of wonderful artists….Thanks for pointing me out to daydreamdesigns. I do go there quite often, ( I have my work for sale there too 😛 ) and it’s always inspiring….it is great to see how so many people are doing what they love, providing beautiful, often affordable work. And etsy is full of artists who have quit their day job and are now making a happy living out of their dream!!! What’s not to love about it!!!! Great shopping, great stories…happy customers, happy artists. GO ETSY!

  2. these are so beautiful! Thanks for posting! You always post such interesting things!

  3. barbaraelka says:

    this is beautiful work….thank you for posting about what people love to do for living…bliss

Leave a Reply

