Making It / One Meter Board Sculpture Project / Mike Smith

My Making It project today was to take a one meter board and make it into a ‘work of art’.

Stephen MacInnis had this crazy idea and is making all his ‘followers’ take part.  He made up all these rules and everything!  You can read all about it here:  http://sbmacinnis.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/a-wednesday-idea-crazy-or-otherwise/

                        

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in Making It, recycled, sculpture, wood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Making It / One Meter Board Sculpture Project / Mike Smith

  1. sbmacinnis says:

    Wow! This is great Mike, I was thinking about cutting mine but I’m keeping it intact. The base is a great idea.

    • I’m glad using the base was OK. I thought maybe it was against the spirit of using just a one meter board. But, I wanted it to stand up. I’m going to go back to the library tomorrow and see if it’s still there.

      Mike

      • zorgor says:

        Very cool! But how did you get it into the library unnoticed? 🙂

      • I just walk in looking like whatever I’m doing, or carrying is perfectly normal, and that I know what I’m doing, and where I’m going. Purposeful. Don’t quite look anyone in the face. Stay away from the main isle. Position it on the table like that’s exactly where it’s supposed to be, and walk away.

      • zorgor says:

        That rocks! I wonder though, being in the library, if anyone is going to walk off with it…

  2. OK, It wasn’t really in the spirit of Stephen’s idea, but I did leave a note. IF YOU LIKE IT, TAKE IT HOME and a small blurb cut from Stephen’s post about this. I know, that’s cheating, but I make my own ‘rules’ or modify rules to fit my needs.
    But, I wondered that no matter where these are left, will people think they are of value and try to find the owner? Will they feel guilty about taking these? Will they just leave them in case the owner comes back for them? I didn’t want the ‘finder’ to have any of these conflicting thoughts.

    • zorgor says:

      It’s cool! I mangle the ‘rules’ of art projects other people suggest to suit me too, all the time. That’s “interpretation”, right? 🙂 I like the idea of the note you left because I wondered all the same things about this idea. Well then! The question becomes, “how long will it stay there?!”

    • sbmacinnis says:

      I like the idea of a note. I might put a note on mine too.

  3. Beth says:

    Mike – I found your piece. The district art teachers were installing the annual student art show and I saw piece and thought – that’s cool and it has a story! I love it, have showed all the staff and am keeping it in my office for now to remind me that creativity is alive and good in the world. Have you seen the mystery book sculptures from Edinburgh? http://www.npr.org/blogs/krulwich/2011/11/29/142910393/the-library-phantom-returns Thank you!! Beth

    • sbmacinnis says:

      This makes me happy. I’m glad that someone will have a story to tell about the day they found a piece of art.

Leave a Reply

