Making It / Recycled Lamp / Mike Smith

http://www.etsy.com/listing/91083078/found-metal-artifact-lamp-number-59

 

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in lamps, Making It, metal, my posts, recycled, sculpture, Work Bench/Place/Space. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making It / Recycled Lamp / Mike Smith

  1. unexpectedlighting says:

    I love that piece you used on the base. What is it? Something automotive?

  2. It’s from one of my brother’s Harleys. A part of the brake. I don’t know the actual name of it. I’ve got another one. Do you want it? I’d like to see what you do with it. I’ve only been making lamps for a year, and have been mostly concerned with the sculptural aspects, rather than the lighting effects.

    I’ve been making a lot of lamps using the low watt vintage style bulbs because I like them, but people have been asking for lamps with shades, so…

    Please let me know when you see something I can or should do better at.

    thanks, Mike

    • unexpectedlighting says:

      I would LOVE to have that piece. How much would you want for it?

      Re the shade issue: I hate working with conventional shades. I’m a complete failure so far at reworking them, or making them from scratch–and they’re so expensive to buy and ship. So I look for other things that are shade-like. I saw a very cool lamp once made from car air filters–the round ones. I think that’s much better than a regular old shade. People need re-educating: hold your ground, I say!

  3. I agree about the shades. Send me your address (mfsmith46@gmail.com), and I’ll send you that part. We can work something out in the future, I got it free, and don’t like using the same thing more than once anyway.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

