Unexpected Lighting

Hi Mike

Several posts/pages on  my blog might fit your bill. Check out:

http://unexpectedlighting.wordpress.com/2011/06/23/sometimes-a-great-notion/ This one is about process, and has in-process photos. Several other posts also talk about process.

http://unexpectedlighting.wordpress.com/about/ has a picture of my workspace.

http://unexpectedlighting.wordpress.com/kitcheniana/how-these-came-about/ talks about the how the idea of using kitchenware was born.

Feel free to grab photos from there–and link at will. I love to be reposted!

Thanks, I look forward to seeing what you write!

Metalight

http://www.etsy.com/shop/Metalight

About destructivetesting

I'm a self-taught artist who prefers to use found objects in ways that were never intended. I'm not interested in making 10 or 100 of the same object. This, of course, takes more time to make each piece. I also prefer a more minimalist look, where each part of a piece can be appreciated. I consider my clocks to be small sculptures with moving parts. And, my lamps to be small sculptures with light. My mirrors are reflective sculptures. DESTRUCTIVE TESTING means to push something to it's limits to understand it's structural performance or material behavior under different stresses. I interpret this in my artwork as using materials in different ways or combinations than they were designed to be used. I also just like the slightly ominous sound of the term...
This entry was posted in other artists posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unexpected Lighting

  1. I love your blog. I only scratched the surface of it, but will go back. Some of it is similar to what I want to do here, except I hope to make this a sort of community thing. I only started this a few days ago, and don’t really know what I’m doing yet. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I’m trying to find a ‘blogs I follow’ widget. And, I’d like to have a permanent message below my photo at the top.

    thanks, Mike

  2. unexpectedlighting says:

    I think the “blogs I follow” thing is called Blogroll. At least that’s how I’d use it. I think it’s on by default with WordPress listed.

Leave a Reply

